The President of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari has imposed a 8pm to 6am curfew nationwide as a measure to curtail the spread of Coronavirus effective from May 4,2020.

He made this known during his broadcast to the nation on April 27. In the broadcast he said,

In line with the recommendations of the Presidential Task Force on COVID nineteen, the various Federal Government committees that have reviewed socio-economic matters and the Nigeria Governors Forum, I have approved a phased andgradual easing of lockdown measures in FCT, Lagos and Ogun States effective from Monday, 4th May, 2020.

ALSO READ  Three Arrested For Insulting President Buhari On Social Media

However, this will be followed strictly with aggressive reinforcement of testing and contact tracing measures while allowing the restoration of some economic and business activities in certain sectors.

Furthermore, new nationwide measures are to be introduced as


a. There will be an overnight curfew from 8pm to 6am. This means all movements will be prohibited during this period except for

b. There will be a ban on non-essential inter-state passenger travel

c. Partial and controlled interstate movement of goods and services essential services; until further notice will be allowed for the movement of goods and services from producers to consumers, and

ALSO READ  3 ways to maintain an online relationship

d. We will strictly ensure the mandatory use of face masks or coverings in public in addition to maintaining physical distancing.

Furthermore, we also discussed how to safely transport food items from rural production areas to industrial processing zones and ultimately, to the key consumption centers. earlier, these steps were necessary and personal hygiene. Furthermore, the restrictions on social and religious gatherings shall remain in place. State Governments, corporate organisations and philanthropists are encouraged to support the production of cloth masks for citizens.

ALSO READ  Fella Makafui and Medikal spotted kissing as they celebrate 1st anniversary

For the avoidance of doubt, the lockdown in the FCT, Lagos and Ogun States shall remain in place until these new ones come into effect on Monday, 4th May 2020.

The Presidential Task Force shall provide sector specific details to allow for preparations by Governments, businesses and institutions.

In respect to the above are guidelines, State Governors may choose to adapt and expand based on their unique circumstances provided they maintain alignment with the guidelines issued above”.

[acf field=”schemahere”]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here